Oh two posts in two days, I must be on a roll.

As the summer break is coming to an end, students must once again break out of the comfortable cushion that the holidays naturally carve for themselves. Tis only natural. So it is also natural for any Literature student to acquire these books, in the pursuit of learning and education (“pssssht”).

Interestingly, I am not doing any British modules this semester. While it was an adventure reading Crusoe and romping between 18th and 20th Century Britain. I have decided to take time-travelling to a whole new level by traipsing into the weirdness of Sci-Fi and Fantasy. Initially rather reluctant to take this module, my love for fantasy literature (Yes, I am a closet Harry Potter, C S Lewis and Diana Wynne Jones – God bless her soul-  fan) has pushed me to study it as a serious pursuit. I cannot help but wonder if my passion will be dulled by such intense study of literary theory of magic.

Also, I am rather excited about studying American and Asian American Literature, I suppose they would make a fascinating combination of modules. The White Man’s perspective and the Eastern perspective of said White Man.

The following is the booklist. I have realised that I am rather inefficient at keeping track of what I read so do bear with me as I try to cross them out on this list. So mechanical but much needed, yes?

EN3243: Science Fiction and Fantasy

Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card

Hexwood, Diana Wynne Jones

Miles Errant, Lois McmAster Bujold

Anno Dracula, Kim Newman

Snow Crash, Neal Stephenson

Ilium, Dan Simmons

A Philosophical Investigation, Philip Kerr

EN3234: Asian American Literature

The Woman Warrior, Maxine Hong Kingston

M Butterfly, David Henry Huang

Jasmine, Bharati Mukherjee

Sister Swing, Shirley Geok-lin Lim (just finished reading).

Selected writings (handout) of Garrett Hongo, Wakako Yamauchi, Carlos Bulosan, Bienvenido Santos, Russell Leong and others.

EN3231: American Literature

“Self-Reliance”, Ralph Waldo Emerson

“American Scholar”, Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Young Goodman Brown”, Nathanial Hawthorne

The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne

“Civil Disobedience”, Henry David Thoreau

“Bartleby, the Scrivener”. Herman Melville

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, Frederick Douglass

“Paradise of Bachelors, Tartarus of Maids”, Herman Melville

